Skip directly to content

RIAA 2017

As TAG marks its 25th Anniversary this year, we were honored to host our annual event, the Research in Action Awards, on Thursday, November 16, 2017, at SLATE in New York City. This was a truly meaningful evening, celebrating a quarter century of activism and progress promoting research, prevention, and treatment critical to ending the global and domestic HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Download the PDF of the Event Journal

The 2017 Research in Action Awards were co-chaired by Robert Monteleone and Sally Morrison. Longtime friends and supporters Dr. Mary Travis Bassett, Scott Campbell, and Michael Cunningham were our honorary chairs and our co-hosts were Jenna Wolfe, Ron Goldberg, and Ann Northrop.  This year's program featured a live performance by singer, artist, and activist John Kelly.

Our three award recipients were: Dr. Demetre Daskalakis, Deputy Commissioner for the Division of Disease Control at the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, whose award was presented by Johanne E. Morne, Director of the NY State Department of Health AIDS Institute; attorney Joe Evall who led a team of pro bono lawers to defeat an "HIV Denialism" lawsuit brought against TAG in 2011, whose award was presented by TAG Board Chair Barbara Hughes; and Charles King, one of the founders and President/CEO of Housing Works, Inc, whose award was presented by Mark Harrington, TAG's Executive Director.

Inaugurated 21 years ago to heighten awareness and visibility of AIDS advocacy, research, and philanthropy, the Research in Action Awards is TAG’s premier fundraising endeavor, providing unrestricted funding vital to supporting our work. TAG’s extraordinary accomplishments include accelerating the development and approval of HIV combination therapy; working to secure global access to HIV treatment, now reaching over 19.5 million people worldwide; and tackling the most common co-infections affecting people with HIV – hepatitis C virus (HCV) and tuberculosis (TB). TAG’s work shows that combining research, activism, and political will drives the discoveries and prevention and treatment interventions that will end these epidemics.

"Peer," Erica BaumAcclaimed American artist Erica Baum has donated a limited edition of 15 archival prints, created especially for TAG. We were pleased to offer donors of $6,500 or more one of these special prints, as available. By photographing books slightly ajar, Baum captures multiple pages all in one frame, showing several slices of reference and narrative at once. These photographs of interrupted stories and images play with larger concepts of place and time. Her work is in the permanent collections of Whitney Museum of Art, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Yale University Art Gallery, among others.

We live in an unprecedented political era that, daily, brings new threats to TAG’s work. In this, our 25th year, we need your commitment more than ever before. We are so grateful for your support and hope you will consider a special and additional contribution to our 25th Anniversary Campaign that will help TAG to expand its leadership role in defeating HIV and ending the HCV and TB epidemics.


Broadway Cares / Equity Fights AIDS

Nick Debs / The Debs Foundation
Marc E. Elovitz
Kevin and Neil Goetz
Barbara Hughes
Johnson & Johnson Healthcare
Richard Lynn and Joseph Evall
Drs. Mike McCune and
Karen Kaye Smith-McCune
Robert Monteleone
ViiV Healthcare

Celeste B. Cooper
David Corkery
Dick Dadey
Dr. Michael F. Giordano
“In Memory of Michael Palm”
Alby P. Maccarone, Jr.
Kenneth T. Monteiro and Leo J. Blackman
Jason Osher and Rick Schubel
Audrey Sokoloff and Tim Hosking
“In Honor of Joe Evall”

Jim Aquino
Frank Bua and Scott Carroll
Scott P. Campbell
Larry Chanen and Jack Burkhalter
John F. Duane
Roy M. ‘Trip’ Gulick, MD
Judith and Richard Harrington
Mark Harrington
Marty and Beth Katz
“In Honor of Monte Steinman”
Robert McLain and Alberto Blanquel
George and Mirla Morrison
Laura Morrison
Bruce Schackman and Ed Sikov
George P. Sheer and Matthew D. Warnecke
David Sigal and Senator Brad Hoylman
Monte Steinman

Bob Bronzo
Paul L. Dietz
The Hon. Thomas K. Duane
Joy Episalla and Carrie Yamaoka
Assemblymember Deborah J. Glick
Michael K. Longacre
Joseph McConnell and Erik Haagensen
Eddie Pelto
Laura Pinsky
Mark Sexton and Kirk Wallace
“In Honor of Joe Evall”
Jane Silver
Peter Staley
Keith S. Tobin, MD
P. Forrest Williams, Jr.

Blueprint NYC