Skip directly to content

RIAA 2018

TAG was honored to host our annual event, the Research in Action Awards, on Thursday, November 15, 2018, at SLATE in New York City. This was a powerful experience that celebrated our 26 years of activism and progress promoting research, prevention, and treatment critical to ending the HIV, TB, and HCV epidemics, and building our strength for the struggles ahead.


Masha Gessen
Author and Journalist
Staff Writer, The New Yorker

Margaret Hamburg, MD
President, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Former Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Former Commissioner, NYC Department of Health

Joy Tomchin
President and Founder, Public Square Films
Executive Producer, How to Survive a Plague and
The Death and Life of Marsha P. Johnson

Jenna Wolfe
Journalist and host, First Things First
will receive a Lifetime Friend of TAG Award

Help support TAG’s work

The 2018 Research in Action Awards were co-chaired by Sally Morrison, and UNITED; our co-hosts were Ann Northrop and Ron Goldberg; and our presenter was Greig Sargeant

Acclaimed American artist Zoe Leonard donated a limited edition of 100 (+ 10 APs), created especially for TAG, of her 1992 piece, I want a president. We're pleased to offer donors of $1500 or more one of these special prints, as available. To read Leonard's full bio, please see our Limited Art Editions page. The 2018 TAG Limited Art Edition was underwritten with a generous grant by the Marta Heflin Foundation.

Inaugurated 22 years ago to heighten awareness and visibility of AIDS advocacy, research, and philanthropy, the Research in Action Awards is TAG’s premier fundraising event. It provides us with donations vital to supporting our work.

TAG’s recent extraordinary accomplishments include: launching the southern states End-the-Epidemic (EtE) initiative; testifying before the NY City Health Committee budget hearings to reiterate the need to restore funding and increase funding for NYC’s TB response. TAG worked for years with partners to get New York to recognize the importance of the growing HCV epidemic – and this year Gov. Cuomo announced the first state-level plan to eliminate HCV in NY.

We live in an unprecedented political era that brings new threats to TAG’s work every single day. In this, our 26th year, we need your commitment more than ever before. We’re so grateful for your support. TAG’s work shows that combining research, activism, and political will drives the discoveries and prevention and treatment interventions that will end these epidemics.


Nick Debs / The Debs Foundation

amfAR, the Foundation for AIDS Researcher
Marta Heflin Foundation

Kevin and Neil Goetz
Rex Walker and David Rosenauer – “In Honor of the 2018 RIAA Honorees”

Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS
Celeste B. Cooper – "In Honor of Barry Goralnick and Keith Gordon"
David Corkery
Robert W. Lennon and Mark Gilrain
Richard Lynn and Joseph Evall

Amida Care
John F. Duane and Mary E. Northridge
The Gendel Foundation
Drew Hodges and Peter Kukielski
Robert McLain and Alberto Blanquel
Robert Monteleone
Bruce Schackman and Ed Sikov
David Sigal and Senator Brad Hoylman

Kim Allen-Niesem
Jim Aquino
Bob Bronzo
Paul Cossu
Dick Dadey
Joy Episalla and Carrie Yamaoka
Global Health Strategies
Mark Harrington – “In Honor of Masha Gessen, Peggy Hamburg, and Joy Tomchin”
Barbara Hughes
Emmy Kondo – "In Memory of Paul Corser"
The Josh Lehrer and Jeffrey Seller Familly
Jay Leitz
Sally Morrison
Eddie Pelto – “In Memory of Daniel A. Volpe, Jr.”
Lance Renner
Andrew Schirrmeister – “In Honor of Monte Steinman”
Mark Sexton
Elizabeth Sherman
Scott Stangenes

Robert and Margot Bazell
Michael Beltran and Timothy Ford
Paula and Mitchell Chalfin
Ellen Chesler – "In Honor of Jeff Mendoza"
Stephanie Cowles
John Deyling
Paul L. Dietz
The Hon. Thomas K. Duane
Dr. Jen Furin
Assembly Member Deborah J. Glick
Roy M. "Trip" Gulick, MD
Karen and Steve Hirdt
Housing Works
Tim Hosking and Audrey Sokoloff – “In Honor of Richard Lynn and Joseph Evall”
IAVI / Dr. Mark Feinberg, CEO
Jameel Jiwani
Rebecca Jordan-Young – "In Memory of Sally C. Cooper"
Babette Krolik and Sara Rafsky – “In Memory of Bob Rafsky”
Burt Lazarin
Michael K. Longacre
Kelsey Louie / GMHC
Joseph McConnell and Erik Haagensen
Jeff Mendoza
JP Morgan Chase Bank, N.A.
Laura Morrison
Mirla and George Morrison
Jason Osher and Richard Schubel – “In Memory of Margie Garber-Steinberg”
Daniel Ptacek
Karen Bronzo Rabb and Jefferson Rabb
Ginny Shubert and Davis Sipress
Jane Silver
Peter Staley
Monte Steinman
Daniel Tietz / Bailey House
Barbara Toll – "In Honor of Jeff Mendoza"
Mitchell Warren / AVAC
Robert Wheeler and Charlie Miller
The James M. and Ruth E. Wilder Foundation
Terry Wilder / Mount Sinai Institute for Advanced Medicine

Video by Diagonal Media
Spotco – Travis Moser and Taylor Yale
Nico Sidoti - Print Postive NY

List as of 11/15/18